SecretWars

 

This is rather odd, since most, as in all, of my content here so far has been mostly anime or manga related. The only other discussion would be the Legend of Korra Finally. However, before my anime habits, and before I was into anime in general, I read comics. My story, those of the people that might have stumbled here from my deviantart account know that I write stories dealing with superheroes. Although the one on diveiantart is more superhero like in the sense that they are in story arcs, and there is no major sort of over arcing villain. This is different in the series I want to get published, where there is one and there are no little story arcs. Enough about my shameless self-promotion, what I am trying to say is I like comics and superheroes.

I have been getting comics since the Fear Itself event back in 2011. I am not a fan of DC Comics, although the movies are hit and miss. So, if you are looking for DC Comic related, well clearly this will be the wrong place. I have been seeing superhero movies for what feels like forever. But this discussion will be aimed at the recent reveal of what the event for this year entails for Marvel.secretwars01

So, a little back story about Secret Wars is that it happened before. In fact two of them happened before. They were both events that happened back in the 1980s.  I am going off of just memory and memory alone for what I know about it. The only thing that I do know is that there is this place known as Battleworld, where the heroes and villains of the Marvel universe clashed due to the Beyonder wanting it to happen. Also this was where Spiderman got the Symbiotic Suit that later turned into Venom. That is all that really needs to be known about it, at least that I know about it.

Anyway, in the current Avengers and New Avengers series events have been happening across the multiverse that has been causing Earth, since it is obviously the focal point, to clash within eight hours with another universes Earth. So if nothing is done in those eight hours both Earths will be destroyed. If something is done, then only one Earth shall remain. The smartest minds in the Marvel Universe have been trying to find a way to stop this and well, they failed to do so.

The writers at Marvel for this event have stated that Marvel Universe, 616, and Marvel’s Ultimate Universe, I believe is 612, will clash and be destroyed in the first issue of Secret Wars. So in other words everything that has happened in the last fifty or so years in the main Marvel universe is now going to be gone.

Now, I have seen comments about this, most in which are really hoping this is not some elaborate reboot. Personally I really hope it is not. Right now, I am really curious and worried what might happen.

This discussion is mostly just speculation and hope really for what is to come. One, seeing that I follow the Spiderman series, and one thing that is going to be happening is Spiderman will be back together with Mary Jane, personally I do not like that. I started reading in Superior Spiderman, and now with the new series introducing Silk, I want to see those two stay together over the overly known Peter Parker and Mary Jane relationship.

So, I really think that this is just going to be a way to rewrite a lot of things back in, like Captain America not losing his Super Soldier Serum, although I do like Falcon as the new Captain America. Another thing is un-killing Wolverine, un-killing Professor Xavier, Deadpool as well since he is being killed off in April. So, I really hope this is not just some fancy way of getting those characters back. At the same time the Ultimate Universe as of right now only has Spiderman for the comic series, so it might be a way to bring some of the characters from that universe to the main one, namely Spiderman Miles Morales, which I have been wanting to read but the store never has. This might also be a way to give the Ultimate Universe a final send off since the series from that universe have been failing in recent years.

After writing everything and going to upload it Marvel apparently announced Ultimate End, which is their way of saying that they are ending this universe in a mini event form that will be going on at the same time as Secret Wars.

Really, I am like other people when it comes to this, and have a lot of mixed views. I have been looking for a reason to stop getting comics, so I have more money for manga, this event might lead me down that path. Or it could be like how it has been in recent years and does something that makes me want to read more comics. This will probably turn into the second one.

