Ok, so on one hand a lot of bloggers are doing these posts. Mine is super random, so I am rather glad about that. Since even I don’t know what I am going to talk about for the day until I start typing. But, that is not the only reason why this day has the title. Time to talk about original series. Also, as always happy holidays for whatever you celebrate, and if you don’t celebrate anything then have a nice day.

There were a lot of original series I attempted to watch this year. So, any anime that does not have source prior to its creation. This is a little difficult if I say Death Parade since it had a short 20 minute long show before about a year which served as the concept.

There were some with promise, Plastic Memories and Classroom Crisis. Rolling Girls was good, but the ending did not satisfy me. Death Parade was amazing, really enjoyed it. Charlotte I kind of liked, then really, then felt like the ending was too rushed and not thought out well enough. Comet Lucifer I thought would be good, but it was in one of those I don’t feel like watching it.

So, enough about the shows that aired this year, time to talk about my favorite original series and its sequel that I saw this year, Kiddy Grade and Kiddy Girl-And. I do not want to talk too much since the Favs post will be dedicated to both series in upcoming weeks.

Kiddy-girl-and final scene

Out of all the older shows I watched this year, just to name a few, (Strike Witches, Madoka Magica, Non Non Biyori, Ben-To, and Magical Lyrical Girl Nanoha) a lot, and at least two that I mentioned are some of my favorite series. Nanoha probably also being close to the top 10 and the same goes for Kiddy Grade.cool chicks

Space action series, I have not really seen many anime that take place in space. Even the few mecha series I seen not all took place in space. But Kiddy Grade I really enjoyed. The first 8 episode really focus on the characters before the real plot of the series actually happens. But although that is the case it gives small hints on the mystery as a whole. The action is also really good as well, although I mentioned that. I just like the fights and Éclair and Lumiere with their chemistry together makes it so much more fun.

Lumiere and Eclair

Now Kiddy Girl-And, is the sequel. It does not have Éclair and Lumiere as the main, let alone in the series until really at the final episode and a half which made seeing them with the new cast that I grew to love in another 24 episodes that much more fun. Ascoeur, Q-feuille, and Di-Air, are so wonderful. Although the series does take a similar approach in it taking 8 episodes before the actual plot happens it still gives time for getting to know the characters. The show is also a lot more comedic as well, at first I felt mixed about it, but I grew to love it by the end. This one is also more Yuri than the other. In all honesty looking back at both shows that I watched for 4 weeks in august I still have a bad case of the void and still want to watch these shows again. This hasn’t happened in a long time.

tsunderes

So, any original series this year that you saw that you enjoyed or were disappointed by?


 

As always I hope you enjoyed.

As I mentioned feedback on what you would like to see for these series of posts would be appreciated. It will take a few posts before a set form and it might change depending on the series as well too. The same goes for any suggestion for anything you would like to see here.

The Reviewer’s Corner has an official twitter, which is here. All updates, polls, and information on posts and future posts can be found there.

If you are a blogger who focuses on anime, manga, or comics and make you blog known feel free to visit the blog roll page and leave a message.

Again, I hope you enjoyed and see you next time.

– Joe

