Well, it is that time once more where I talk about a favorite series of mine. This one I will admit probably has too much hype to it. If not for the fact that I like magical girl series, probably because they are nice, dramatic, and kind of relaxing, then this series is the total opposite. Either way I will be taking a different approach on a series that took a dark turn on typical light magical girl genre.

The Plot:

Madoka is just an average girl. One day here and her friend, Sayaka meet a cat-like creature named Kyubey. Kyubey offers a deal with them. If they become magical girls, fight evil witches, then they can have their desire granted. However the recent transfer student, Homura, who already is a magical girl, urges them not to take part in this contract. However after meeting Mami, who is also a magical girl and their upperclassmen. They learn what it is exactly to be a magical girl and slowly creep further into the dark conspiracy behind it.

 

Info

  • Genre: Magical Girl, Psychological, Thriller, Yuri if not Yuri Undertone heavily
  • Airdate: January-April 2011
  • Length: 12 Episodes
  • Studio: Shaft
  • Source: Original Work
  • Licensor:  Aniplex of America
  • Alternative Retellings: Movie 1 and Movie 2
  • Sequel: Rebellion (Movie 3) + Untitled Short or Movie or something (TBA release)
  • Dub: Yes

Bold means it is more important for Genre.

Last Viewing

Last summer, so 2015, July like most series. It has been on my to-watch list since 2013. It took me just way too long to get to it. I did try watching it once in October 2013, but did not watch pass episode 1. I Tried again in October 2014, when I started to watch a lot of magical girl series, but did not get pass the first episode again. When I did however get past episode 1, I was kicking myself for not watching it sooner. I think I had to stop myself and limited my viewing of it to just 2 episodes a day. I would have finished it in a day. I also still need to see the third movie.

rip mami

Why A Fav?

Besides the fact I like magical girl series, and I guess explaining why I like magical girl series will help explain why I like a show that is one, but turns the genre completely around. This is rather simple, they are nice series, no rush whatsoever, can get me super emotional for whatever reason, and just a nice type of show to watch after a long day or when bored. I am not sure why, the types, although I am mostly thinking of PreCure, it can be repetitive, but they still can be enjoyable. I will also be talking about other ones in future Favs posts.

With that said, I like how it does not do any of that and takes what I enjoy and completely crushes it. For whatever reason I just like that. It made me watch it more because I did not know what I was to expect. Although I partially did due to an abridge series spoiling it. It still had impact.

head tilt
Also for it being a Shaft series, one cannot forget the head tilts.

Preferred Method

So, no sub or dub part and no series over compilation films. I have not seen the dub or the compilation films. But with most series I would probably recommend the series as a whole over the compilation films. Compilation films are good if you do not to watch a whole series, but remember what happened.

What I don’t Like

Probably all the hype for it. Hype sometimes deserved sometimes is not. Hype can ruin expectations for a series, since everyone is like “This, watch it, it is awesome.” So the hype in general. Did it live up for me, yeah, it did. I just never like the concept of hype for series. Yes it can make it well-known. But there are just some things about it that I just do not like. I think this series is enjoyable, obviously since it is on here, but I do not think it deserves all the hype it has.

best girl from madoka

Little Tidbits

  • Best Girl: Homura (after ep 10 because of ep 10)
  • Magical Girl Outfit: Mami, I like the hat
  • Magical Girl Power: Homura or Mami (Is unlimited gun works basically)
  • Best non-magical girl: Madoka’s Mom
  • Biggest Frustration: Madoka becoming a magical girl

As always, I would love to hear either your thoughts on this series or just a bit about a favorite series of yours that is a magical girl or psychological or something.


As always I hope you enjoyed.

Feedback on what you would like to see for these series of posts would be appreciated. It will take a few posts before a set form and it might change depending on the series as well too. The same goes for any suggestion for anything you would like to see here.

The Reviewer’s Corner has an official twitter, which is here. All updates, polls, and information on posts and future posts can be found there.

If you are a blogger who focuses on anime, manga, or comics and make you blog known feel free to visit the blog roll page and leave a message.

Again, I hope you enjoyed and see you next time.

– Joe

