Hello, and welcome to a new series of posts of mine called the Favs. There is one thing that I love about anime and that is as fans we all love different series. We all label series differently. Even the series that we share in common we view differently as well. We have different favorite arcs, different methods of watching or reading the series. So, here is to what will hopefully be the first of many. The First Fav goes to my favorite anime Fairy Tail.

Now, although I will be talking about a series as to why I like them these posts may contain spoilers in certain parts. If there is a spoiler warning will show for a section since a spoiler may be to one reason why I like the series.

Mavis'_reaction
Spoiler Warning Pic…….even though there are no spoilers this time for this post.

The Plot

Natsu is searching for his father, a dragon named Igneel. He is a wizard and part of the guild known as Fairy Tail. With other members, Lucy, Erza, Gray, Happy, and so much more they journey and go on missions of wonder. Be it to fight for their Guild or to stop the Dark Guilds. Later in the series it deals with the Dark Wizard Zeref and the fight to stop him.

Last Viewing

FACESo, this series is ongoing. It is a weekly series with over 275 episodes. Now, as for seeing the early episodes for the series, I have not in a few years. I did see episodes 1-50 twice, once subbed and once dubbed. After that I have only seen all the episodes once. Taking that into account the last time I saw the earlier episodes was 2012.

Why a Fav?

A part of this series being a Fav and my personal favorite anime is nostalgia. Even taking away that nostalgia I would still put it at the number one spot for my favorite anime. Let me break down those two parts then.

juviaThose that have seen this in post before this reason is nothing new. But I only got into anime back in 2012. When I first started I only watched one show, in dub at a time. Then I watched Fairy Tail, got into a lot more series, mixing between dub and sub. Once the first series ended in 2013, I started watching a lot, and I mean a lot of anime on a weekly basis that was ongoing. So, without Fairy Tail, although another series could have done it, having now seen over 400 different anime series is partially thanks to that.

Getting away from the nostalgia, the fights, the characters, and story I just really enjoy it. I mean my description of the plot, might not be the greatest. I am never really good at describing the plot of something that is massive in the span of a single paragraph. The moments between characters, there are just somethings that are always enjoyable. It only gets more enjoyable as time passes on too.

Method: Anime or Manga?

FairyTail-Volume_1_CoverWhat I mean by this is, do I read the source or just watch the anime. I do read the manga. I started after the Grand Magic Games arc ended. I also started to buy the series as well and own up to volume 16. As time passes I am starting to like the manga more and more. One reason being that I get to know what happens many months before the anime get there. The other being just the art is rather nice, gives me something to look forward to for a short five-minute break weekly to read. I will admit though I have been struggling with the anime in recent months. A part of this could be due to the fact the passing has slowed in order for the manga to advance further or because I already read this part. I honestly do not know, and I am leaning towards a mixture of the two.

Favorite Arc

This one is difficult. I am not just talking about the anime, but the manga as well. The current arc is really good. However it is not done and I do have a few issues with it. Mostly seems like it is happening so quickly.

dragon stuffThe other one being the previous major arc, Tartarus. That one was amazing since so much happened in terms of character development. It also really set in motion towards were the series is heading, even if the series happens to be heading towards its finally. Now my only problem with this arc is the anime adaptation, to me it drags on a little bit, and is still ongoing but nearing the end. I personally have not watched Fairy Tail in a while since each episode is a fight and it could be because I saw all of it before. But that is not going to stop me from watching the series all together.

 What I don’t Like?

cryingNo matter how much you love a series, there has to be something you do not like about it. To me sometimes it does come from the fights in the anime feeling like they are dragging on too long. This became more apparent when the Grand Magic Games Arc resumed after the year hiatus. I mean I don’t hate it. But it really just does not feel as entertaining waiting weeks on end to watch a fight unfold. It was the main reason why I dropped Bleach. But because I like the manga for Fairy Tail, and the previously mentioned nostalgia, I am going to do my best to continue.

Also, although this is a little minor. But I have not really read a lot of long, and I mean several hundred already chapters, for manga. So I do not know how it is when it comes to character development. It sort of feels a little slow for Fairy Tail. But then at times it becomes so apparent that the character has changed. It is like comparing the beginning to where it is now, it is amazing how much the characters have changed.

fairy-tail-rave-master-crossover

Little Tidbits

  • Fav OP: Opening 12 Tenohira
  • Fav ED: I skip ED so there is none
  • Best Girl: Mavis, Juvia is a close second
  • Fav Fight: Igneel Verses Acnologia
  • Fav OVA/Film: OVA 6 Fairy Tail X Rave

 

So, yeah. I would like to say this series of posts are still a work in progress so any suggestions of what you would like to see me talk about would be nice, since I really enjoyed talking about one of my favorite series. I would like to keep the poll system always running, so the order for post 4-6 will be determined by the votes in the polls, which can be located on the right.


 

 

As always I hope you enjoyed.

As I mentioned feedback on what you would like to see for these series of posts would be appreciated. It will take a few posts before a set form and it might change depending on the series as well too. The same goes for any suggestion for anything you would like to see here.

The Reviewer’s Corner has an official twitter, which is here. All updates, polls, and information on posts and future posts can be found there.

If you are a blogger who focuses on anime, manga, or comics and make you blog known feel free to visit the blog roll page and leave a message.

Again, I hope you enjoyed and see you next time.

– Joe

 

